Multi Award Winning Boutique Bed & Breakfast  
Luxury Five Star Boutique Bed & Breakfast in South Devon near Dartmouth and the River Dart 
01803 712990  |  07885 180487 |  
 
Luxury Boutique B&B in South Devon 
 

 

Guest Reviews HIGHER GITCOMBE ★★★★★ 

Where old fashioned hospitality meets modern day comforts 

"Wow Factor" 

Left on Sep 10, 2016 for a stay in Sep 2016 
A bed and breakfast with a wow factor. Every possible extra had been catered for with great attention to detail. Very generous breakfast portions 

Idyllic location 

Left on Sep 11, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 
We received a very warm welcome from Lynnie & Paul Jolly and we were delighted with the scones and cream that were in our room. Our room was spacious, very light, clean, fantastic views and the choice of coffees, teas and biscuits etc. We had a peaceful and relaxing time at Higher Gitcombe and thank you. 

The most perfect B&B that we have experienced 

Left on Sep 9, 2016 for a stay in Sep 2016 
It was a pleasure to meet Lynnie and Paul, who must be the most perfect and friendly hosts that can be found. A delightful house in a very quiet Devon lane but within easy reach of Dartmouth and Totnes. The accommodation was luxurious, with huge extremely comfortable beds and an abundance of thick,fluffy towels. I was amazed by Lynnie's attention to detail with all the little extras that she supplied. We loved the little dish of jeilly babies, Lynnie, and we never usually eat sweets! There was nothing wanting here. Nowhere could such a breakfast menu ever be beaten. The smoked salmon was delicious. Sadly our stay was all too short, but still enough to be able to completely recommend a stay at Higher Gitcombe. 

Wonderful accommodation with very special hosts 

Left on Aug 18, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 
Thank you Paul and Lynnie for a wonderful stay in your beautiful property. Fantastic welcome and extra special treats for our anniversary. We felt like we were visiting family and were made to feel very special. Breakfast was fantastic and plentiful. Thank you for making me feel like a Princess on my wedding anniversary 

A really lovely place to stay 

 
 
We only spent one night at Higher Gitcombe but it was a delight. Our hosts were welcoming and the room was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble (including ironing a shirt). A good nights sleep was followed by a magnificent breakfast. Highly recommended. 

Home from home 

Left on Aug 23, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 
Second stay with Lynnie and Paul. Very welcoming hosts, warm and friendly with that home from home experience. Undoubtedly the best BnB we have stayed in by far. Breakfast is of exceptional quality with a huge choice and some amazing offerings from Lynnie Try the breakfast Sundae. Stayed in the bigger Cream room both times and have booked for a third before we left. Room cleanliness is London 5***** hotel standard and beyond with large comfy beds with pillows to suit all tastes. Great views from bedroom balcony across rolling fields and very quiet unspoilt location. Paul and Lynnie simply are the best hosts who go beyond to make your stay as perfect, spoiling and pampered as they can, keep it up guys you do a first class job. 

Thank you so much 

 
Thank you so much for making our son's passing out at BRNC even more special! What a fab place you have and what an amazing welcome. Emma T. Petersfield 

Wow, Amazing! 

Left on Aug 14, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 
Higher Gitcombe is an amazing place to stay. Tucked out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Totnes in the glorious country side but just a short drive into town. Fabulous breakfast, a huge warm welcome and an amazingly friendly atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and will be returning. Loved it . Claire R. Plymouth 

No Complaints! 

Reviewed Aug 2016 
 
There is no reason for anyone to find fault with this venue. The room was absolutely as described. The cream tea on arrival was very welcome and a lovely touch. Breakfast was phenomenal and if you want to be super critical was probably too much for the average person but the choice was brilliant and everything was well cooked and delicious. Many thanks to Paul who directed us to one of the nicest beaches( Blackpool Sands) that I have ever visited. We tend not to re- visit holiday venues as we like to have new experiences every holiday but I have absolutely no reservations in recommending this B&B to anyone who wants to be spoiled for a day or two and enjoy the Devonshire countryside; be warned however the narrow roads in the surrounding area need very careful negotiation. 

"Wonderful stay, wonderful people" 

Just returned from a two night stay with Lynnie and Paul Jolly at Higher Gitcombe. 
It so lived up to what we had seen on the tv show ,we had the beautiful Cream room with views across the country side and a gorgeous superking bed with huge pillows all the little touches are thought of and even some you don't expect. 
This couple are so nice it feels as if you are visiting friends and they can't do enough for you ,even ferrying us around to pubs etc and really friendly and interested in what people have to say. We will definitely return ...and I hope the Cream room is available again. 
Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful 

Classics at the ready for wedding weekend! 

Very special wedding party stayed at Higher GItcombe for ceremomy held in full military dress at Britannia Royal Naval College.  

"Magical" 

Left on Aug 8, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 
We have had the most fantastic time. This B&B is by far the best one in the country. The accommodation is faultless and the service is first class indeed! Lynnie and Paul will make sure that your stay in Devon will never be forgotten. Suzannah M. 

Amazing stay, home from home, highly recommend with kids or no kids! 

Reviewed August 2016 
 
We had an absolutely lovely stay at Paul and Lynnies amazing house. It's spotlessly clean and the owners take a lot of pride in their service to customers! Nothing is too much trouble and we felt like we were staying at friends rather than a b&b! The breakfast was delicious, lovely tasty local bacon and the lovely breakfast sundae, delicious. The family suite was great, two bedrooms with a bathroom in the middle, perfect for little ones and older kids alike. The kids room has two single beds but also room for a cot if required. They also have another much larger room which has a 'loft' room just up a small staircase which would also work really well for families. The little details are lovely - fresh flowers, little chocolates etc. 
 
Lovely stay, would highly recommend! My kids wanted to go back! 
Room Tip: Family suite is perfect for two adults 2 kids 

Fantastic stay at Higher Gitcombe with Paul & Lynnie in a beautiful part of the UK 

Reviewed Aug 2016 
 
We stayed in the Cream Suite at Higher Gitcombe for 2 nights from the 15th July 2016, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. 
 
On arrival, we were met on the drive by both Paul & Lynnie, the owners, who were welcoming and very friendly. We were shown around and we settled in. Great views over towards the moors from our Juliet balcony in the room. My initial thoughts were what great value the accommodation is - fantastic VFM, and that was before we'd sampled the breakfast! We were left a breakfast menu and a selection of times to choose from. The menu catered for the health conscious and for those wanting to treat themselves to the full works, from cereal, granola, yoghurt, nuts & seeds to sausage, eggs, fried slice and bacon. We both tried the 'Jolly Breakfast Sundae', which was a great start to the day. Generous portion sizes mean you won't be left hungry. 
 
We also spent some time in the hot tub on Saturday afternoon, which was very relaxing and a nice surprise (we weren't aware of it when we booked). 
 
We hadn't disclosed the fact that the purpose of our stay was to celebrate our wedding anniversary before arrival, but when Lynnie found out, she scattered hearts in our room and set us on a table of our own for breakfast the following morning! Lynnie and Paul also gave us an anniversary card, which was a lovely personal touch. 
 
Accommodation, hosts and location fantastic, complemented by awesome weather. Couldn't wish for more and will definitely return! 

"A wonderful boutique B&B in beautiful Devon countryside" 

Left on Aug 6, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016 
Very friendly hosts in this amazing boutique B&B. Accomodation is like home away from home. Delicious breakfast was cooked for us all. The B&B is situated in the beautiful countryside of Devon. A wonderful find for us. Thank you Paul and Lynnie. 

"Fantastic B&B with such a wonderful welcome" 

Left on Aug 1, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 
As soon as we arrived onto the drive we were greeted with such a warm welcome. The family suite we had for us and our two children was perfect. There was fresh scones, little boxes of smarties and bowl of jelly babies. Such detail and thought had gone into the experience. Our children didn't want to leave. The breakfasts definitely set you up for the day. We will be back! 

"Absolutely wonderful. I would recommend to anyone who loves to be spoilt" 

Left on Aug 2, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016 
My Partner and I were totally overwhelmed by the welcome we received from Paul and Lynnie Jolly. What a wonderful home they have absolutely breathtaking in every sense. Our room was beautiful and what a lovely gesture - two cream scones set out for us. Not even The Ritz would be better. Our breakfast amazing cooked obviously by a Master Chef! - Superb. I would definitely recommend this boutique B and B for those people out there who appreciate perfection. Thank You x Roy and Penny 

"Delicious breakfast and great hot tub" 

Left on Jul 17, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016 
We stayed at Higher Gitcombe for our 10 year anniversary. The room was very comfortable and Paul & Lynnie certainly went the extra mile to make sure our stay would be special. The highlight of our stay definitely was the breakfast, which was laid on for us with anniversary decorations. There was an unbelievable choice of fresh fruits & homemade compotes and of course the full English with organic sausages and poached eggs. Another feature in my opinion, which makes this B&B more special, is the outdoor hot tub, which Paul very kindly got ready for us to use in the morning before breakfast. 

"Brilliant, we challenge you to find better" 

Left on Jul 16, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016 
This is without doubt an exceptional B& B. The house is beautiful, our hosts were friendly and I would like to consider them as new friends, Lynnie's breakfast sundae and cooked breakfast were wonderful. The whole stay surpassed our expectations, we will definitely be back 

"Pampered relaxing stay" 

Left on Jul 12, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016 
Wonderful stay with excellent hosts whose attention to detail ensures that every guest feels they are special and like a house guest. My husband and I had a great stay and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast which Lynnie excels at. Her Jolly sundae is a treat to taste! Enjoyed the company and the extra treats that Lynnie laid on for us. Just a marvellous break. 

"5 Star B&B in delectable Devon" 

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile 
 
Absolutely Fabulous ..... setting and personal welcome by hosts Lynnie and Paul. The family suite with attention to detail second to none and an absolutely fabulous breakfast banquet. 
 
We had a wonderful, relaxing 3 night stay in the enchanting 2 bedroom family suite. We loved meeting Lynnie and Paul, who's hosting skills are superb and were all very sad to leave! 
 
Higher Gitcombe is a fabulous 5 star B&B in delectable Devon, giving an excellent opportunity to discover Dartmouth and the surrounding places. 

"Fantastic start to our holiday. We couldn't ask for more" 

Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile 
 
Immaculate and unbelievable attention to detail. Superb facilities and quality furnishings. Rooms were squeaky clean with views to die for. Enjoyed a lavish breakfast and then said goodbye to our very friendly and helpful hosts. 
 
Will definitely be back to stay for longer. Ruby N. 

"Top Quality B&B" 

Reviewed 23 May 2016 
 
The last time I stayed in a B & B it was 10 years ago and it was a place voted the best B & B in England. Higher Gitcombe was just as good. Our room was nicely furnished with a nice shower room. There was an adjoining twin room ideal if staying with children. A wonderful breakfast, with plenty of choice and served very efficiently. Conveniently located for the wider Dartmouth area. Good value for money. 

Short Break 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 7 May 2016 
 
We had a fantastic stay. Paul and Lynnie were excellent hosts and made us so welcome, home from home. We first saw them on Four in a Bed and decided to visit them. Breakfast was amazing especially Lynnie's breakfast sundaes !! Yummy yummy would recommend them. Very healthy and the cooked breakfasts were good too. Our room was lovely and Lynnie added extra touches ie sweeties and on arrival a cream tea was waiting for us. All together a fabulous stay. 

Thank you both so much for making our stay, for our Golden Wedding Anniversary, so special. 

“Our hosts, the lovely Paul and Lynnie. The delicious scones, jam and cream, on arrival. The beautifully decorated room and lovely big bed. An excellent selection of tea, coffee, etc., provided in the room. Breakfast, where do we start, an absolute feast for the eyes and the palette. Lynnie's attention to detail, which was second to none". 
Birthday suprise at Higher Gitcombe

"Outstanding" 

Left on Jun 29 for a stay in May 2016 
“Lynnie and Paul were absolutely fantastic. They made us feel so welcome and it really enhanced our stay. The room was was very comfortable and the facilities were the best we have ever had not only in a bed and breakfast but in any hotel. The B&B is well situated for Dartmouth and Totnes with both only being 10-15 minutes away. Jolly's Breakfast Sundae was a brilliant start to the day as was the amazing cooked breakfast. We will definitely be going back : 
Breakfast pastries at Higher Gitcombe

"An Exemplar. Perhaps Britains finest B&B" 

Left 15 May for a stay in May 2016 
“Lynnie made us some lovely scones and jam tarts as a welcome. A really warm welcome indeed. The rooms were simply stunning. Our hosts were generous, kind, thoughtful and attentive. Location brilliant for exploring South Devon. Breakfast was brilliant, especially the Jolly Breakfast Sundae. We have stayed in many b&b's of varying quality and this one stands well apart from any other. A score of 10 doesn't express the altogether higher quality of what Paul and Lynnie have achieved here. We stayed in many 9+ rated b&b's that pale by comparison.” 
We couldn't find fault here 
Higher Gitcombe entrance hall

"Could not ask for more - Perfect start to my holiday" 

Left on Jun 1 for a stay in May 2016 
“Great location. Postcard worthy house and view. Very friendly staff. Fantastic choice for breakfast. Spotlessly clean. Couldn't ask for more!” 
Breakfast selection at Higher Gitcombe

"Just wonderful" 

Left on Jun 24 for a stay in June 2016 
+ “Absolutely everything, lovely place, very nice hosts, wonderful breakfast, nice area. Gorgeous room, great facilities” 
- Nothing to complain about at all! 

"Thoroughly enjoyable" 

Left on Jun 28 for a stay in June 2016. 
“Very welcoming and comfortable. And multiple small touches which made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. Definitley would stay again.” 
Breakfast options at Higher Gitcombe

"Great place to relax - Very welcoming people" 

Left on Jul 9, for a stay in Jun 2016 
Beautiful house, great people, fantastic food. Really felt welcome. Paul and Lynnie made our stay. They were fantastic. 
Relax in Higher Gitcombe's garden

A superb B&B in a lovely part of Devon 

Left on Jul 8, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016 
This was a superb stay from the moment we arrived to the sad day we left. The room and the facilities were second to non, the hosts were lovely people and the place thoroughly deserves its first place in the 'Four in a bed' series. Our hosts could not do enough for us and the breakfast choice and the quality of food was amazing. All in all this was an amazing b & b in a great part of the Country. 

"Best B&B ever!" 

Left on Jul 7, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016 
The owners are both so lovely and welcoming, the rooms are all gorgeous, and the breakfast is absolutely amazing. Definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed in! 

"Outstanding 5 Star Boutique B&B" 

Reviewed 4 May 2016 
 
We stayed here after seeing the B&B "reviewed" on Channel 4's "Four in a Bed" (it won, justifiably so). 
The hosts, Paul and Lynnie were supper, welcoming us with genuine affection from the start. We were treated to a guided tour and a delicious home made cream tea (it is Devon!) upon arrival. 
Our room (the Pink room with ensuite, dressing room and, if needed, a separate twin bedded room for families) was generously proportioned with a huge Super King bed and glorious views across the Devon countryside. The rooms were all spotlessly clean. There was a good selection of coffees, teas and hot drinks available in addition to a small pot of delicious cookies (a very thoughtful touch). 
We were asked to give in our breakfast order the evening before to ensure it would not only be ready when we were but to avoid disappointment should something not be available. The choice was unbelievable - I'm a big eater and I was having trouble choosing. The breakfast itself was nothing short of Olympian, as a previous reviewer has commented "quantity AND quality". All of the produce is locally sourced, free range and organic. 
Paul and Lynnie were on hand to give advice on where to go and what to do in the local area, in addition to suggesting good places to eat to fit just about every budget. 
We slept like logs, the bed was firm, comfortable and the rooms quiet with each room being individually heated so you could ensure temperatures were as you like them. Would I stay again? Definitely. Would I recommend Higher Gitcombe? Absolutely, without hesitation! Paul & Lynnie may operate a small B&B but the quality it and they exude far surpasses many 5* star hotels who charge considerably more. 

Amazing, wonderful 2 night stay....highly recommend. 

Left on Jun 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
Stayed with Paul & Lynnie for 2 nights in May while the folk weekend was on in Dartmouth. Made to feel most welcome and treated like one of the family, the room was perfect in every way, every last detail had been thought of. I loved the fact that there was a fridge with a jug of fresh milk in it, hate long life stuff !!!! As for the breakfast they are amazing I loved Lynnies's breakfast sundae. All in all we would highly recommend, location - beautiful, rooms - immaculate, food - out of this world, hosts - very helpful and most welcoming. Thank you Paul & Lynnie we will be back. 

Quite possibly the best B&B in the world! A gem in South Devon 

Left on Jun 20, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016 
I was looking for somewhere special as a treat for my husband and children for Father's Day - and I wanted it to be extra special as it was also recently our 20th wedding anniversary. I booked the family suite at Higher Gitcombe for us all and I can truly say that it exceeded my expectations. The suite consists of two bedrooms, separated by a small entranceway , an adjoining en suite bathroom and a dressing room. The rooms are really lovely - very nicely furnished and with so many little touches and real attention to detail. Everything you might ever need whilst you are away is provided - including a range of toiletries to choose from, bathrobes and slippers. We arrived to some very welcome and very tasty fresh scones and my children especially appreciated the biscuit jar filled with chocolate chip cookies! There was coffee and tea provided and fresh milk in a little refrigerator. Mini chocolates on the pillows every day was also a really nice touch. The breakfast was truly amazing - there was an incredible menu to choose from - enough to keep everyone more than happy, including vegetarians and fussy children! You could, for example, start off with a "Jolly sundae" (fruit, yoghurt, nuts, cereal blended together) and follow it up with your choice of cooked breakfast and toast - and then round it all off with a pain au chocolat or croissant. The food was all very, very tasty and cooked to perfection. Our hosts, Paul and Lynnie, were just lovely and couldn't have done more to make everyone feel at home. We were very well looked after. Higher Gitcombe is in a great location for families visiting this part of Devon. It's just a short drive from the adventure park at Woodlands which has been a firm favourite with our children for some years. It's also a short drive to Dartmouth where everyone loves to go crabbing and where there are some lovely shops and art galleries. Dartmouth Castle is also well worth a visit - check the English Heritage website to see if they have any special events going on there as they sometimes do re-enactments. The Castle Tea Room is also a great place to get some refreshments! We had a fantastic stay - all of us highly recommend Higher Gitcombe! 

 

"Fabulous Stay" 

Left on Jun 20, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016 
After eventually finding Higher Gitcombe with the very kind help of Lynnie's father, we were welcomed by a delicious cream tea in the garden. The house is stunning with all the furnishings being of a high standard. Our bedroom had a lovely dressing room attached.and a lovely comfortable bed. The breakfasts were a sight to behold with a wide variety of fruit etc. and the cooked breakfast was huge and tasty. Paul and Lynnie were excellent hosts with nothing too much trouble. It is no surprise that they won the 'Four in a bed' competition. 

Lovely Stay with a lovely couple 

Left on Jun 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
We recently stayed at Higher Gitcombe for two nights. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Pink Suite. We felt really spoilt with homemade scones with jam & clotted cream in our room on arrival, really naughty but extremely tasty. The room was extremely comfortable with a huge choice of teas, coffees and biscuits on the welcome tray with a pint of fresh milk in the fridge.The bed was comfortable and the room temperature adjusted to our requirement. The bathroom was good with a power shower.The breakfast was just as you see on the TV programme Four in a bed, Lynnies Jolly Breakfast Sundae was an absolute delight, and the cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection.There were other breakfast choices, all fresh, really wished we were staying longer to try it all! There were a great choice of places to eat for evening meals, Paul was very helpful with recommendations, both to eat and visit in the area and gave directions to the places. We found Paul and Lynnie a very delightful couple and will certainly stay again, hopefully very soon. 
 
 

Fantastic stay with beautiful views 

Left on Jun 5, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016 
 
Spotlessly clean Fantastic views Very friendly owners Beautiful b&b with lovely paintings and artwork. Ruby N. Sutton 

6* Perfection 

Left on Jun 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
 
If there was such a rating as 6 stars, Higher Gitcombe would certainly qualify. A lovely friendly greeting from Paul and Lynnie is just the beginning of a fabulous experience at this establishment. The rooms are impeccable, there is nothing left to chance. Heavenly beds and linen, spotlessly clean everywhere, and to be greeted in your room by an afternoon tea served on impeccable china cups and plates is amazing. However the top mark must go to the STUNNING BREAKFAST! Lynnie's special treat must not be missed and the cooked breakfast is cooked to perfection using top class ingredients. I could go on but I'm sure you get the picture! We will be back as soon as we possibly can, thank you Paul and Lynnie, unforgettable. Sue C. Evesham 

"The best of the very best" 

Left on May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
 
Well where do we start so much to say. We have had the most wonderful stay with Paul and Linnie. The warm friendly welcome that we received on our arrival made us feel so at home. We stayed in the Blue room and it was so tastefully furnished with lots of lovely touches and was immaculate with crisp fresh bedding, lovely soft towels in En-suite, bath and shower gels, shampoo, conditioners etc. We were really pampered, biscuits tea cakes, cream teas,fruit, little sweet treats and an assortment of many different drinks on the tea tray, We had a great nights sleep bed really comfy.The Breakfast was something else so much choice and so much of everything , so delicious and Linnies special, mouth watering and beautifully presented, the dining room is stunning there has been so much thought gone into this b/b and lots of hard work . We would recommend this lovely place to everyone .The stunning house and gardens is in a quiet and peaceful setting ,we cannot wait to return and to stay with Paul and Linnie, Jolly by name and jolly by nature. June P. Camberley 

"Faultless Service" 

Left on May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
 
A fantastic b and b set in the beautiful country side, just 4 miles from Dartmouth. Paul and Lynnie provide a friendly, faultless service. Their breakfast options are delicious and you can have much or a little as you want. The english breakfast is the best i've ever had! Their attention to detail is amazing, on arrival their were scones with jam and cream in our room and an array of hot drink options. Robes and slippers, an array of toiletries and high quality towels and bedding is provided. Worth every penny, I would highly recommend this B and B! Hetta W. Bristol 

"Best B&B ever!!!" 

Left on May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
 
Wonderful hosts best ever Breakfast best ever Beds wonderful location we were so impressed with everything we will be going back in September. Robert W. Birmingham 

"Everything you could possibly want and more" 

Left on May 22, 2016 for a stay in Apr 2016 
 
We have been completely and utterly spoiled by the wonderful Paul and Lynnie Jolly. Higher Gitcombe is a luxurious bed and breakfast set in a tranquil corner of the Devon countryside. The beautifully decorated bedrooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms are immaculately clean. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and cooked from such high quality local ingredients. It's the perfect start to a day exploring all the local attractions from spectacular coastal path walks to shopping in the local towns of Totnes and Dartmouth. Paul and Lynnie were very helpful with great knowledge of the local area. Higher Gitcombe really provides everything you could possible want from a luxury bed and breakfast and more. We will definitely be back. Emma D. Massachusetts 

"Exceeded our expectations" 

Left on May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
 
We were greeted on arrival by the Owners Lynnie and Paul who made us feel very welcome from the start of our too short break. The accommodation was absolutely first class in every respect with many extra touches. Location so close to Dartmouth and Totnes is ideal. Breakfast was an occasion in itself, particularly if you opt for Lynnies Jolly Breakfast Sundae as a starter, totally unique. Overall our stay at Higher Gitcombe exceeded our expectations and if you choose to visit only one B&B this year, then Higher Gitcombe should top your list. Jenny B. Rye 

"Exactly how it should be done" 

Left on May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016 
 
We have just returned from a two night stay at the lovely Higher Gitcombe. Higher Gitcombe sets the standards very high for B and B's. The initial welcome from our hosts Paul & Lynnie set the tone for our too short stay, nothing seemed too much trouble. We stayed in the blue suite which was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with so many extra touches, fresh flowers, chocolates, biscuit jar, iced water and milk in the fridge, plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate choices, freshly baked cake and scones to name just a few. We had a super-king sized bed with top quality bed linen and plenty of top quality towels & toiletries in the bathroom. On our first evening Paul offered to drive us down to a restaurant a few miles away which was such a lovely gesture, thank you Paul this was very kind of you. Breakfast lived up to it's five star billing, wholesome, fresh & delicious & thoughtfully prepared, it beats any hotel cooked breakfast hands down. You must try Lynnie's "Jolly Breakfast Sundae" it is delicious and if I could buy it for breakfast each morning I would without a doubt. What made Higher Gitcombe even more special was the warm & friendly owners. Paul & Lynnie are simply lovely people who make you feel more like friends than customers in their home. We had a few very enjoyable chats with them & they proved to be very welcoming & generous hosts. You both fully deserve every one of your five star ratings, thank you for sharing your home with us. We would recommend a stay at Higher Gitcombe without a shadow of a doubt. Debbie W. Nottingham 

Outstanding 'Five Star' Boutique B&B 

Reviewed 25 April 2016 
 
Most people shrug when you tell them that you're staying in a B&B, a little nonplussed. They have probably never stayed in a place like this. 
The house is stunning. Newly built, but in a traditional manner with airy, light rooms and a lovely outlook. A superb friendly welcome when we arrived (a wee bit early) set the scene for the rest of the weekend. Introductions and tour of the rooms over, a huge cream tea was then magically piled up in the lounge for us all. 
The owners, Paul and Lynnie come over as genuinely lovely people who are interested in you. The attention to every little detail isn't lost on anything whatsoever and you do feel like you're staying somewhere a little bit special. 
We stayed in a party of seven (six adults and our four-year-old boy) and each one of us was addressed by name from the very start, it's a nice touch. In the short time we stayed, we really felt at home and that we had really got to know Paul and Lynnie well, despite the fact we'd never met them before. 
Breakfasts. Now these are out of this world. I did wonder quite why such attention was being made for us to order our breakfast from the individual menus the evening before. Next morning, all was revealed; whilst you may have everything on the menu (and trust me, you would love every mouthful) only an Olympic athlete in full training could ever hope to tuck it all away. Quantity and quality, it all seemed to be so effortless for them. It was an absolute feast but prepared (and then cleaned away) for seven people with expert hands. I raise more drama when I make myself a coffee. 
Paul & Lynnie take "B&B" to the next level and beyond with Higher Gitcombe. It's styled as a "5-star B&B" and it really doesn't disappoint. 

"A delightful spacious room with stunning views" 

Left on Apr 30, 2016 for a stay in Apr 2016 
 
The house is situated in a quiet rural location, close to unspoilt Devon coastline and Dartmoor. There is a network of footpaths direct from the house, many within reach of pubs with delicious local fresh food. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Lynnie and Paul were excellent hosts and provided an exceptionally delicious breakfast. I would highly recommend this Boutique B&B. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth
 

Devon at its Glorious Best 

Left on May 14, 2016 for a stay in Apr 2016 
There are so many wonderful things to do in South Devon and there is no better place to base yourself for walking on Dartmoor, shopping in Totnes and Dartmouth or relaxing on the beach than at Higher Gitcombe. The key reason it is such a wonderful retreat is the people who run it. Paul and Lynnie Jolly are the most delightful people you could ever possibly meet. They are extremely professional meaning that their B&B is immaculate and every need is anticipated and catered for. The beds were incredibly comfy and it is worth returning just for the breakfasts. They provide such a variety of choices all prepared lovingly with the finest local ingredients. You will leave feeling thoroughly spoilt. Overall the B&B is everything you want: clean, comfy and excellent value for money. I would thoroughly recommend a visit and I will definitely be returning. James D. Cambridge. 

"Heavenly" 

Left on Apr 30, 2016 for a stay in Apr 2016 
 
Thank you so very much Paul & Lynnie for such a wonderful stay. Higher Gitcombe is just stunning. Paul & Lynnie go out of their way to make you feel at home. We stayed in the pink family room- it was perfect. A huge comfy bed with beautiful white company bedding. A walk in dressing room with a silent mini fridge containing fresh milk. Leading off from the bedroom you have a luxurious shower room with a power shower & fluffy towels. Another delightful twin bedroom, beautifully decorated -ideal for families. The breakfasts were amazing. Lynnies Jolly sundae was to die for. Believe me you won't want anything else to eat for the rest of the day. I can't praise this B&B enough, it was just a perfect stay. These are a few of our favourite things:- the warm welcome-the beautifully decorated house- the flowers in the room-the smarties on the pillow- the cream tea on arrival-the large selection of teas,coffee,hot choc& biscuits in the room.. The beautifully presented breakfast table with fresh flowers-dishes filled with lots of dried & fresh fruit & nuts. A truly very special place, hosted by two very special people. We are already planning our next visit. Wishing you both all the very best. Eve & Frank 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Home from home" 

Left on Apr 13, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016 
 
I throughly enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to recommend you stay here. Lynnie and Paul could not be more welcoming. The breakfast was five star and the room was brilliant. Graham H. Newport 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Wonderful accommodation & exceptional hosts" 

Left on Apr 13, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016 
 
We stayed at Higher Gitcombe for a two night anniversary break and the warmth and pampering we received from Lynnie and Paul was a joy. The house is large and spacious and the breakfasts were the best we have had anywhere and were cooked to perfection. Lynnie's fruit sundae was a must each day! The attention to detail and little extra touches at the breakfast table were a delight. We were surprised to find gourmet pubs only a few miles away for our evening meals and although set in the beautiful countryside of Devon we were mid-way between Totnes and Dartmouth too. We so wished we had booked another evening's stay because the time just whizzed by. Thank you Lynnie and Paul for looking after us so beautifully!! David J. Bucks 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"An exceptional Bed and Breakfast in Devon" 

Left on Apr 11, 2016 for a stay in Apr 2016 
 
We have just returned from a wonderful 4 day stay at Higher Gitcombe .On arrival we were greeted by our hosts Paul and Lynnie who welcomed us into their beautiful home. We stayed in the Blue suite complete with dressing room and en suite bathroom. In the room was a lovely cream tea. The kettle had already been warmed in readiness for us to make a pot of tea. The room was of exceptional standard with a very comfy super king size bed. The towels and bedding all from the white company. On your return from your day out there was always a little food treat waiting for you in your room. Lynnies breakfast are amazing. Not only is there the traditional breakfast but every day Lynnie has 2 or 3 breakfast specials. The breakfast fruit sundae was amazing! This bed and breakfast far exceeds any hotel that we have stayed in. Would we stay here again? In the words of four in a bed - its a yes yes yes. Marion and Alistair H. West Sussex 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"True Luxury" 

If you're looking for that special place to stay in South Devon, then look no further than Higher Gitcombe. Paul and Lynnie are amazing hosts and have created the most warm and welcoming atmosphere at their luxury B+B. No aspect is forgotten. The rooms are immaculate, containing everything you could possibly need whilst away. Both are on hand to answer any queries or help you plan your stay, from finding places to eat to local attractions to visit. Breakfast is divine, and I would really recommend the Jolly Sundae Special. The food is presented in an exceptional way and is extremely fresh, high quality and locally sourced. All is served extremely efficiently in the beautiful dining room. Our room, The Pink Suite, was perfect and catered for all our needs. The B+B is brilliantly located between Totnes and Dartmouth and I would really recommend taking a trip on the Steam Train from Totnes or exploring the coastal paths around Start Point. Whatever the weather, there is always somewhere new to explore and if not, you'll be welcomed back to Higher Gitcombe to the most delicious cream tea - a must have when you're in Devon! Paul and Lynnie - thank you for making our trip to Devon so memorable. We will definitely be back! Rebecca D. April 16 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Fantastic weekend at Higher Gitcombe" 

Left on Apr 10, 2016 for a stay in Apr 2016 
 
On arrival we were greeted by our wonderful hosts Paul and Lynnie,who couldn't have done more for us on our stay for our Anniversary weekend.Room (Cream room ) was spotless with beautiful views over to Dartmoor.Lovely comfy bed and everything you could possibly need in the room.Breakfast well.....What a choice,you would definitely not go away hungry,so much choice,good quality produce and prepared and cooked so well,been thoroughly spoilt and would definitely recommend,will certainly return ourselves .Everything superb. Angela and Barry. Devon. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Perfection" 

Left on Apr 5, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016 
 
From the moment we arrived at Higher Gitcombe to the moment we left Paul and Lynnie where the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and the service we received was above and beyond. The service and hospitality far exceeds most 5 * hotels. The breakfast is truly wonderful (we certainly did not need lunch whilst we were staying at Higher Gitcombe) as are the extra touches in your room. We returned in the afternoons to scones or hot cross buns (we stayed over Easter) and fresh milk in the fridge everyday as well as a fully and wonderfully stocked hospitality tray. The décor is spotless and very tastefully done. We had our 17 month old son with us and I was a little worried about how we would get on in a B&B. I shouldn't have worried. We were made to feel relaxed and our son was welcomed as warmly as we were. In short, look no further, this is by far the best B&B we have stayed in. We will certainly be returning. Jane F. Worcs 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

" A truly 5 star experience" 

Left on Mar 24, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016 
 
It is difficult to put into words how happy we were with our stay at Higher Gitconbe. The welcome we received, the accommodation, the food amenities were all first class. Lynnie and Paul (proprietors) continually went the extra mile to ensure that we (and the other guests) were happy, always with a smile, always on hand to give advice and ready to recommend pubs and restaurants in the area. The breakfast was wonderful, a treat for anyone who wants organically produced fare, cooked to order and plentiful, no one leaves Higher Gitcombe hungry. We will definitely return to enjoy the luxury of Higher Gitcombe again, the sooner the better.Barry G. Perth Australia 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Something very Special" 

Left on Mar 14, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016 
 
Wow this is the 3rd time we have stayed at Higher Gitcombe and it just cant get any better. As usual from the moment of our arrival to the moment we left we were made to feel Special. This time we took some friends along with us as it was for a birthday break and they too were bowled over by Lynnie and Paul's hospitality. The place is immaculate and finished to a very high standard the rooms are superb with ginormous beds and plush furnishing also the views are spectacular from the cream room. We cant wait to visit again.Pete M. Basingstoke 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"10 out of 10" 

Left on Mar 14, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016 
 
Excellent hosts, warm and friendly welcome.stunning property.excellent multi choice breakfast. Really good size rooms. I will be going back sometime.. Roy and sheila Basingstoke. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Warm and wonderful B&B!" 

We arrived with a very warm welcome by the Jollys and shown to the blue room which was fabulous, very tastefully decorated and a great dressing room, (I had house envy) the added touches of flowers chocolates and cream tea on arrival was a lovely surprise and very tasty. The kettle had even been warmed up for us!! Plenty of toiletries in the very clean bathroom and they had soft white fluffy towels on warm hand rails. The bed is Huge and very firm with plenty of cushions/pillows. The breakfast well it's to die for, so much choice and perfectly cooked and so tasty, we went home quite a few pounds heavier than when we arrived and I don't think the breakfast can be bettered anywhere! Lynnie and Paul are so warm and friendly and make sure you have a great time and certainly spoil you, nothing seems too much trouble. We most certainly would recommend higher Gitcombe to all our friends and family and we will certainly return. Thank you Lynnie and Paul. Jenny P. Reviewed April 16 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Home from Home" 

I throughly enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to recommend you stay here. Lynnie and Paul could not be more welcoming. The breakfast was five star and the room was brilliant. Graham H. March 2016 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Wonderful accommodation and exceptional hosts" 

We stayed at Higher Gitcombe for a two night anniversary break and the warmth and pampering we received from Lynnie and Paul was a joy. The house is large and spacious and the breakfasts were the best we have had anywhere and were cooked to perfection. Lynnie's fruit sundae was a must each day! The attention to detail and little extra touches at the breakfast table were a delight. We were surprised to find gourmet pubs only a few miles away for our evening meals and although set in the beautiful countryside of Devon we were mid-way between Totnes and Dartmouth too. We so wished we had booked another evening's stay because the time just whizzed by. Thank you Lynnie and Paul for looking after us so beautifully!! David J. March 2016 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Beyond Perfection" 

Left on Feb 15, 2016 for a stay in Mar 2016 
 
We stayed in the Blue Suite for two nights. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and cared for. Lynnie and Paul go out of their way to make sure that your stay runs smoothly and that you want for nothing. So many thoughtful touches - cakes, sweets and the most comprehensive hospitality tray we've ever seen, hearts and flowers all over our room for Valentine's weekend, even more Valentine's treats in the breakfast room. There was even a Valentine's breakfast menu! Breakfast was simply stunning in both quality and quantity - trust me, you won't need any lunch! There is a generous selection of breakfast items that will surely please anyone. Even better, it's all organic and locally sourced. I loved the Jolly breakfast sundae and sampled two of the Valentine's breakfast specials. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, with en suite bathroom and an adjoining dressing room. The bed was very comfortable and the views into the garden lovely. The house is located just outside of Cornworthy village and enjoys tranquility and gorgeous views. Our hosts made our stay perfect - they went well beyond the call of duty to make our Valentine's weekend special. We will definitely be returning and cannot recommend Higher Gitcombe highly enough. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Home from Home" 

Outstanding accommodation, beautifully decorated. Best customer service I have ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble, even to the point that Paul offered to drive us back to where the rest of the group were staying locally. Paul and Lynnie made us feel like we were guests in their own home. What can I say about the breakfast; more than enough to eat, and all local products. Craig J. Sept 15 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Luxury Boutique Accommodation for those who love to be spoilt" 

Left on Feb 28, 2016 for a stay in Feb 2016 
From the time we stepped into this exquisite B&B to the time we left it we found everything so incredibly beautiful and professional. The owners, Paul and Lynnie, are the most lovely people who exude care, kindness and top class hospitality skills. We watched "Four in a Bed" where the deserved first prize went to them, so we wanted to see if the experience portrayed in the programme actually did exist. Well ........ It did, and more. The B&B sits in an outstanding area of beauty The hosts are the best you can get The accommodation is clean Bedrooms are equipped with everything you want or need The linen is the best quality Egyptian cotton from The White Company Breakfast is amazing - cereals, juices, hot cooked breakfast, pastries, fruit and specials. You MUST have one of Lynnie's special breakfast sundaes. All in all this is an amazing B&B and we have already decided to go back for a longer stay. We will most definitely be recommending this to our friends. 
 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Perfect" 

Left on Feb 29, 2016 for a stay in Feb 2016 
 
The best quality ever. I have stayed in many hotels in GB and Europe throughout the years and nothing beats the quality and hospitality of Higher Gitcombe B&B. From the moment we were welcomed in the door to the time we left there was nothing but relaxation with quality surroundings. The host were the most charming and welcoming couple I have yet to meet running a B&B. My wife and I will definitely be returning in the spring for a longer period. Best regards John Rosevear 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Perfect Pampering" 

Left on Feb 15, 2016 for a stay in Feb 2016 
We stayed in the Blue Suite for two nights. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and cared for. Lynnie and Paul go out of their way to make sure that your stay runs smoothly and that you want for nothing. So many thoughtful touches - cakes, sweets and the most comprehensive hospitality tray we've ever seen, hearts and flowers all over our room for Valentine's weekend, even more Valentine's treats in the breakfast room. There was even a Valentine's breakfast menu! Breakfast was simply stunning in both quality and quantity - trust me, you won't need any lunch! There is a generous selection of breakfast items that will surely please anyone. Even better, it's all organic and locally sourced. I loved the Jolly breakfast sundae and sampled two of the Valentine's breakfast specials. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, with en suite bathroom and an adjoining dressing room. The bed was very comfortable and the views into the garden lovely. The house is located just outside of Cornworthy village and enjoys tranquility and gorgeous views. Our hosts made our stay perfect - they went well beyond the call of duty to make our Valentine's weekend special. We will definitely be returning and cannot recommend Higher Gitcombe highly enough. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Valentines weekend break" 

Just perfect !! Visited Lynnie and Pauls beautiful bed and breakfast for a Valentines break , expecting good things, but this far exceeded our high expectations !! We stayed in the 'pink room' which was a beautifully decorated , spacious double room , with a separate twin bedroom attached . Everything you could possibly need was available , with many extra special touches, ie scones and cream on arrival. dressing gowns and slippers and heart shaped chocolates !!Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was outstanding , excellent quality , beautifully presented and the choice and variety was second to none ! Must try Linnies breakfast sundae !! Linny and Paul are the most perfectly welcoming and friendly hosts , nothing is too much trouble . Truly a lovely couple ! The bed and breakfast is in a lovely part of Devon with Totnes and Dartmouth a short drive away and some lovely country pubs close by. Outstanding, well deserved five stars, would definitely return !! We don't see how they could make any improvement, we have stayed in many hotels and b&bs and this one is simply outstanding. We felt completely relaxed, at home, pampered, very welcome, very happy and satisfied. It really is head and shoulders above the rest. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"No other B&B comes close" 

Left on Feb 16, 2016 for a stay in Feb 2016 
 
Just returned from a three night stay with Paul and Lynnie at Higher Gitcombe and can truly say theirs is the best B n B we have ever stayed in. They offer a warmth and excellence not found in some of the best hotels anywhere. The rooms are extremely well decorated and furnished, all have huge comfatable beds and en suite facilities The breakfasts are the stuff of legends and make others pale by comparison, the choice and quality is just staggering and Lynnie has some extra special treats on the specials menu. Nice little touches are the biscuits and freshly made cakes which appear in your room in the afternoon, fresh milk in your fridge each day, 5* hotel quality bath/shower toilitries and huge excellent quality towels. We stayed in the Cream room which has great views across the country. Paul and Lynnie are so very welcoming but genuinely so. No airs of ' ...have a nice day sir'. Here just good a old fashioned friendly welcome. Paul even drives guests to nearby restaurants which is above and beyond. The location is very rural but close enough to be only 15 minutes from Totnes or 5 minutes to a few local pubs which offer high quality meals. Highly recommended 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Awesome!!!!!!!" 

Left on Jan 4, 2016 for a stay in Nov 2015 
 
Thoroughly beautiful with excellent hospitality from both Paul and Linnie. Breakfast as good / even better than when they won the "Four in a Bed" competition. It was so good that we have re booked prior to our departure for our parents 70th birthday weekend. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Warm and Welcoming" 

Left on Jan 24, 2016 for a stay in Jan 2016 
 
Paul was very helpful in providing directions to the B&B. On arrival Paul was very welcoming and warm. Paul and Lynnie introduced themselves to us, and booked a table at the local bar, where the food was really good and the value was at the right pitch point. On entering the Cream Suite, the room was decorated to a 5 Star hotel standard, and was filled with warmth and delight. It had everything a person could need, it was a females delight with the size of bath, and high quality decoration. We agreed the breakfast timing and if you are a big eater you will walk away full, fresh fruit cereal, and of course a balanced cooked breakfast, which was served hot and inviting. The following day, we agreed what we were doing, and they planned their day around it, they offered keys, but there is no need, as they look after you, and think of your requirements. I have stayed in many Hotels including Pennyhill Park London, and I have to say, I will use B&B of this standard going forward, as it had more to offer than a hotel. I certainly recommend this B&B, and you won't be disappointed, only pleased. Mark 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"The Best B&B we have ever stayed in" 

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Higher Gitcombe. We decided to go there after watching Paul and Linnie on 4 in a Bed. They got such a great review (and won the competition) that we had to try it for ourselves. It was even better in real life, they are such a welcoming couple who cannot do enough for you. If you love food and being pampered then you really should not go anywhere else! It also helps that the house is located in such a beautiful part of the country of course, with lots to do. We will definitely be making a return visit! Sue C. Milton Keynes Dec '15 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Lovely Hosts in Luxurious setting" 

Left on Nov 1, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
My wife & myself booked a break to celebrate my 60th birthday. We travelled from Margate to To Totnes around 5hrs. The accommodation is 5star +, rooms lookout over the countryside with views of Dartmoor. Paul & Lynnie are fantastic, friendly hosts who could not have made us feel more special, you are made to feel like they have known you all your life, they spoil you like never before. Breakfeast - well where do i start, you have such a choice of fruit, cereals, fruit juices, cooked breakfeast menu has every thing & anything you could wish for. We will be going to stay at Gitcombe in the future & would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break in the Devon countryside. Mark & Christine 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Best ever stay in UK or even Abroad, unique, picturesque & luxurious" 

Left on Nov 1, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
My wife & myself booked a break to celebrate my 60th birthday. We travelled from Margate to To Totnes around 5hrs. The accommodation is 5star +, rooms lookout over the countryside with views of Dartmoor. Paul & Lynnie are fantastic, friendly hosts who could not have made us feel more special, you are made to feel like they have known you all your life, they spoil you like never before. Breakfeast - well where do i start, you have such a choice of fruit, cereals, fruit juices, cooked breakfeast menu has every thing & anything you could wish for. We will be going to stay at Gitcombe in the future & would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break in the Devon countryside. Mark & Christine 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"You won't be disappointed!!!" 

Left on Nov 2, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
Could not resist trying out this B&B after my wife saw it win on 4 in a Bed! From the moment we rolled into their drive we were made to feel very welcome and special in their home. What a treat. We stayed one night in the blue room, which has its own dressing room, home made scones, smarties etc, just as my wife had seen on the programme. The bedding is luxurious by The White Company with seaside pictures displayed which on closer examination saw they were painted by Lynnie. The breakfast was to die for especially the Jolly Sundae! Shared at the table with a couple celebrating their 37th wedding anniversary, so Lynnie had decorated the dining room with bunting and gifts and made them feel very special! By the time we left we felt we had stayed with "old" friends. Lynnie is indeed "very jolly", Paul very hospitable and both genuinely warm. Questions were raised by the other contestants on 4 in a Bed about the size of the breakfast - is it the norm? I can confirm it is and "jolly excellent". If you stay here you won't be disappointed. Well done Lynnie and Paul you deserved to win. Our only disappointment is you are so far away. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Outstanding welcome, we were spoilt" 

Left on Nov 4, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway with things to see very locally or walk in the country, I could not recommend this B&B more highly. This was booked in a panic due to a busy weekend in Dartmouth (food festival) for us to attend a friends wedding. We had no idea what to expect but were delighted with what we had booked. From being greeted as soon as we drove up the drive to the home made scones served with clotted cream awaiting us in the Pink Suite when we were escorted to our room, we were really pleased with our choice. We settled down to a lovely cuppa (with biscuits provided) in our room (which had a Super King Sized bed) to make our breakfast choices. What a choice there was! We love breakfast at any time of day but this was exceptional! I started my 3 course breakfast with the breakfast crumble made with greengages and berries sprinkled with healthy nuts and seeds my partner had porridge. This was followed by a wonderful English breakfast or any cooked items of your choice. All cooked to perfection - no idea how Lynnie did it! For our final course we were presented with fluffy croissants topped with maple syrup! Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts from offering to iron our outfits for the wedding through to arranging taxis to collect us from the wedding reception and replenishing our empty biscuit jar! We will be back as soon as we can! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Outstanding attention to detail" 

Left on Nov 5, 2015 for a stay in Sep 2015 
 
We had the pleasure of staying at Higher Gitcombe in September 2015 for 2 nights. We travel a lot and like our creature comforts often splashing out on 5 star hotels. We were delighted therefore to find 5 star treatment at this lovely boutique B&B. The hosts Paul and Linnie have got it just right. The most attentive service when wanted but they also know when to leave you in peace. We stayed in the cream suite and were surprised to find that not only did we have our room with kingsize bed and lovely ensuite shower room but on opening another door within the suite found another twin bedroom. This would be ideal for a small family or two couples. We sneaked a look at the other suites and they were just as inviting and well appointed. The dining room and guest sitting room are extremely spacious and beautifully furnished. The breakfasts conjured up by Linnie and served by Paul were monumental. As well as a great spread of cereals, fruits, compotes and breads there was on offer a very full English breakfast or haddock with poached egg, kippers and baked fruit compotes. The whole B&B is beautifully appointed, very clean and totally inviting and on top of this it is very good value for money. We will definitely be staying here again and congratulate Paul and Linnie on creating a little haven of luxury on the South Devon coast. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Fabulous B&B with warm,friendly atmosphere and amazing breakfasts" 

Left on Oct 28, 2015 for a stay in Sep 2015 
 
We had the best weekend at Higher Gitcombe. Paul and Lynnie were delightful and their attention to detail is first class. Our room was comfortable and spotless and we enjoyed the smarties! Thanks for making us feel so welcome in your beautiful home. We will definitely visit again soon. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Perfection! Would SO recommend anyone to go here" 

Left on Oct 25, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
We arrived 24.10.15. Paul and Lynnie were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The house was AMAZING! Could not in all honesty fault a thing, we were in the Cream room, which was awesome, but we have to say all the rooms are perfect. We ordered our breakfast soon after arriving, because the choice was so amazing! Lynnie's new breakfast crumble was delightful, and she even gave me some mango, as I mentioned in passing how I love it! Incidentally, breakfast was wow! To sum up, I loved it with a passion, we loved Paul and Lynnie, we can not wait to come back and have some more pampering! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Superb relaxing stay" 

Reviewed Oct 2015 
 
We have just returned from an amazing three day break in the Pink Suite at Higher Gitcombe. Paul and Lynnie are fantastic hosts and gave us a warm welcome into their home. The room was very comfortable with everything you may need. The breakfast was fantastic, the best we have ever had anywhere.Good to see quality local produce being used. We highly recommend and will return ourselves soon. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Rural retreat but still convenient" 

Reviewed September 27, 2015 NEW 
 
We were welcomed into a spotless house, better described as a home, with a room offering views across farmland to distant hills. A truely rural setting as In the morning we could watch a buzzard hovering over the fields. The healthy choices for breakfast were appreciated and rounded off a short but pleasant stay. 
 
Because it is off the 'main' roads you will need clear directions/grid reference/GPS co-ordinates initially but then it is easy to find and is a minor problem for the sake of the quiet rural location. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Relaxing Stay" 

What a beautiful experience to stay at the Higher Gitcombe b&b. We stayed in the cream suite, such a lovely big room with fantastic views. The room has a huge super king bed which is so comfortable, we had the best night sleep in ages. The room has everything you need including a mini fridge and a double Jacuzzi bath! The hosts Paul & Lynnie are so welcoming, genuine & friendly. The best thing about the stay was the breakfast.. you really are spoilt. Starting with Lynnies fab jolly sundae (not to be missed) there is a vast range of choice from pancakes to a full cooked breakfast all using local ingredients. You won't need to eat for the rest of the day!! We will certainly recommended.. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Idyllic setting, warm welcome and amazing breakfast!!" 

Reviewed September 20, 2015  
 
Fantastic! Higher Gitcombe is a lovely house in a very peaceful location only 5 miles from Dartmouth. Paul & Lynnie were attentive and welcoming hosts - nothing was too much trouble. The room was great and the breakfast was outstanding!! This is a great spot to get away for a quiet break or use it, as I did, as a bolt hole after a function at BRNC Dartmouth!! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"A B&B to die for" 

Reviewed September 19, 2015 
 
After a long journey from East Anglia, Paul and Lynnie,Jolly, the owners, welcomed us to Higher Gitcombe like long-lost friends. They simply could not do enough for us - even allowing us to use their own sitting room while they were not using it. Higher Gitcombe is a stunning house and looks as if it had just stepped out of Homes & Gardens. The pristine accommodation is replete with every facility from en-suites to tea making to television ,. The breakfasts, whether Continental or Full English are simply delicious ..If there was a higher classification than 5 star we would have no hesitation in awarding to Higher Gitcombe. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"The best possible place to stay with the kindest of hosts" 

Reviewed September 18, 2015  
 
We had spent two nights in this large, modern, spotlessly clean and beautifully presented house. The position was ideal and so convenient with a lovely 'wrap around' garden and rural setting. The owners could not do enough for us and we were made to feel so welcome; the booking was easy and communication before we arrived excellent. 
 
The quality and standard of both the accommodation and food was beyond all of our expectations and we would recommend Higher Gitcombe to anyone, without reservation or hesitation. It is the best Bed and Breakfast/hotel we have stayed at by a very long way and we hope that we will be able to visit again soon. 
 
If a room available, we would advise that you reserve it very quickly. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent weekend break" 

Reviewed September 16, 2015 
 
A very warm welcome on arrival set the weekend off to a perfect start. It continued along those lines. Breakfast were fantastic, lots of choice. Conversations with fellow people at breakfast were very rewarding as we got to swap ideas and experiences of what to see and do. 
 
The rooms were very comfortable and luxurious. The showers were probably the most powerful in the world. 
 
II would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wanted to stay in the Dartmouth area. Our hosts were very helpful and courteous at all times. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent first class B&B" 

Reviewed September 14, 2015 
 
Paul & Lynnie made us very welcome. Our room was lovely and comfortable, plenty of tea and coffee and spotlessly clean everywhere. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous and we really enjoyed the special homemade fruit sundae that preceded the full English organic breakfast. 
 
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return when we get to visit to this beautiful area of Devon again. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"The most wonderful B&B EVER!!" 

Reviewed August 31, 2015 
 
Have to agree with everything all the other reviews have said x10! 
We arrived to the most lovely welcome from Lynnie. She didn't bat an eyelid when our 2 year old was running like a loon in the garden after being in the car for 4 hrs so that was a great start for us. 
We stayed in the cream suite with the lookout for the children, can't express how delighted we were to see our room- spacious, clean, airy, light, and fantastic views! 
Breakfast was amazing as all the other reviews have said, so much choice and so much of it! 
We stayed for 2 nights over Bank Holiday weekend and have never, ever been made to feel so welcome, and enjoyed a place so much, we will 100% be back when we're next down. 
Paul and Lynnie are such lovely hosts (our little girl has already asked when we're going back) take so much pride in their lovely home I don't think this will stay a hidden gem for too long! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent choice with First Class Accommodation and lovely hosts" 

Reviewed September 7, 2015 
 
As a party of six one on crutches and our dog not the easiest party to cater for but from arriving until we left after 3 nights Lynnie and Paul made us so very welcome. All the accommodation is to a very high standard with lots of personal touches making for a really homely feel. Situated right in the heart of the country surrounded by fields its so tranquil but you are only a couple of miles from several excellent pub/ restaurants (dog friendly) which means you have all the options for an excellent break. Oh the breakfast we are big eaters but Lynnie prepared the most amazing Jolly breakfast sundae and fully cooked traditional breakfast attentively served by Paul. They work hard to make sure that you have a memorable stay so we would whole heartily recommend to anyone and will definitely return if we come back to the area in the future. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Great hosts and best B&B in UK with breakfast to die for" 

Reviewed July 14, 2015 
 
Fantastic new home with spacious established gardens. We stayed in the Pink family suite, luxuriously furnished and all amenities, nothing missing. Both hosts, Paul and Lynnie, were very friendly and generous, ..Paul served the most amazing breakfast we have ever had in their lovely family dinning room. 
Difficult to find with the sat Nav which got confused, but called them up on phone and put us back on track. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent self-catering cottage" 

Reviewed August 30, 2015 
 
We hired the whole house as a self catering cottage. We have stayed in some other cottages on an luxury end before, but this property was by far the best! It was very well equipped(essential stuff such as kichen utensils and wi-fi that actually works, as well as a bit of luxury such as a hot tub and games room), very specious, well furnished, and we just felt that we were having a great holiday! We would definitely recommend this property! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Simply Amazing!" 

Great place, fantastic breakfast and quality hosts, we stayed in the Pink Room and at just over £100 a night it really is excellent value. Ross Hampton - Glos July 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Probably the Best B&B in the World!" 

We went to Higher Gitcombe for a birthday treat and we were totally spoiled from the moment we arrived. Paul and Lynnie we perfect hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them. The room was fantastic (Cream Room) with outstanding views over the open countryside. It has been furnished to a very high standard including all the linen and towels. The breakfasts are awesome with such a variety to choose from too. The full English was divine and set us up for the whole day, its also nice that the produce was all sourced locally and of good quality too. There is ample parking and the gardens are very well maintained. We will certainly be back for another visit. Pete McM. Basingstoke July 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Idyllic" 

I'm in 100% agreement with the other positive reviews posted here. You'd look long and hard to find a better B&B experience. The location / setting are superb, and the property is lovely. Rooms are huge and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts are to die for, and set you up perfectly for the day. Paul and Lynnie couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. To top it all they even arranged the weather for us (we lucked out with wall to wall sunshine). A fantastic stay. Thoroughly recommended.. Clive - London June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Felt like we were staying at the house of good friends" 

Paul & Lynnie Jolly seem totally dedicated to the comfort and well being of their guests. Their energy and attention to detail was evident in every aspect of our 2 night stay with them in their beautiful home. They could not have made us feel more welcome. The breakfast was probably the best b&b breakfast we have ever had in many many years of staying in some excellent b&bs! What a lovely couple! Overall this is a 6* b&b! MeHappy from England June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Amazing and wonderful break" 

Have just spent 3 wonderful days in the best B and B we've ever stayed in. The owners Paul and Lynnie couldn't do enough for us. They were so friendly and welcoming. The house was beautiful, clean and tidy. Spent a few good night's sleep in the super king bed. Lynnie's special Jolly sundae for breakfast was a real treat and the full English breakfast that followed set us up for the day. We would thoroughly recommend this B and B to anyone although want to be able to go back there ourselves so won't tell too many people in case we can't!! Julia and Martin. June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Look no further!" 

Reviewed by: Tony I from Reading 
This is as good as it gets when it comes to b&b. Great hosts, great location, great accommodation. If you add together the luxurious and stylish rooms with amazing views a sumptuous and beautifully presented breakfast ( do not miss the Jolly Sundae ) you have had a wonderful night and are ready for a hard day touring the amazing countryside and coast of South Devon. At the end of the day it's back to your home from home. Thank you Paul and Lynnie for creating such a relaxing and welcoming jewel. Ps. Bring your dog, the garden is perfect for an early morning play before breakfast. Then relax in the hot tub on the patio with a cold glass while your best friend stretches out and suns themselves beside you. Paul and Lynnie really are dog people and your hound is welcome in all the local pubs. June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth