Multi Award Winning Boutique Bed & Breakfast  
Luxury Five Star Boutique Bed & Breakfast in South Devon near Dartmouth and the River Dart 
01803 712990  |  07885 180487 |  
 
Luxury Boutique B&B in South Devon 
 

Guest Reviews HIGHER GITCOMBE ★★★★★ 

Where old fashioned hospitality meets modern day comforts 
Outstanding accommodation, beautifully decorated. Best customer service I have ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble, even to the point that Paul offered to drive us back to where the rest of the group were staying locally. Paul and Lynnie made us feel like we were guests in their own home. What can I say about the breakfast; more than enough to eat, and all local products. Craig J. Sept 15 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Awesome!!!!!!!" 

Left on Jan 4, 2016 for a stay in Nov 2015 
 
Thoroughly beautiful with excellent hospitality from both Paul and Linnie. Breakfast as good / even better than when they won the "Four in a Bed" competition. It was so good that we have re booked prior to our departure for our parents 70th birthday weekend. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Warm and Welcoming" 

Left on Jan 24, 2016 for a stay in Jan 2016 
 
Paul was very helpful in providing directions to the B&B. On arrival Paul was very welcoming and warm. Paul and Lynnie introduced themselves to us, and booked a table at the local bar, where the food was really good and the value was at the right pitch point. On entering the Cream Suite, the room was decorated to a 5 Star hotel standard, and was filled with warmth and delight. It had everything a person could need, it was a females delight with the size of bath, and high quality decoration. We agreed the breakfast timing and if you are a big eater you will walk away full, fresh fruit cereal, and of course a balanced cooked breakfast, which was served hot and inviting. The following day, we agreed what we were doing, and they planned their day around it, they offered keys, but there is no need, as they look after you, and think of your requirements. I have stayed in many Hotels including Pennyhill Park London, and I have to say, I will use B&B of this standard going forward, as it had more to offer than a hotel. I certainly recommend this B&B, and you won't be disappointed, only pleased. Mark 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"The Best B&B we have ever stayed in" 

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Higher Gitcombe. We decided to go there after watching Paul and Linnie on 4 in a Bed. They got such a great review (and won the competition) that we had to try it for ourselves. It was even better in real life, they are such a welcoming couple who cannot do enough for you. If you love food and being pampered then you really should not go anywhere else! It also helps that the house is located in such a beautiful part of the country of course, with lots to do. We will definitely be making a return visit! Sue C. Milton Keynes Dec '15 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Lovely Hosts in Luxurious setting" 

Left on Nov 1, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
My wife & myself booked a break to celebrate my 60th birthday. We travelled from Margate to To Totnes around 5hrs. The accommodation is 5star +, rooms lookout over the countryside with views of Dartmoor. Paul & Lynnie are fantastic, friendly hosts who could not have made us feel more special, you are made to feel like they have known you all your life, they spoil you like never before. Breakfeast - well where do i start, you have such a choice of fruit, cereals, fruit juices, cooked breakfeast menu has every thing & anything you could wish for. We will be going to stay at Gitcombe in the future & would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break in the Devon countryside. Mark & Christine 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Best ever stay in UK or even Abroad, unique, picturesque & luxurious" 

Left on Nov 1, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
My wife & myself booked a break to celebrate my 60th birthday. We travelled from Margate to To Totnes around 5hrs. The accommodation is 5star +, rooms lookout over the countryside with views of Dartmoor. Paul & Lynnie are fantastic, friendly hosts who could not have made us feel more special, you are made to feel like they have known you all your life, they spoil you like never before. Breakfeast - well where do i start, you have such a choice of fruit, cereals, fruit juices, cooked breakfeast menu has every thing & anything you could wish for. We will be going to stay at Gitcombe in the future & would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break in the Devon countryside. Mark & Christine 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"You won't be disappointed!!!" 

Left on Nov 2, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
Could not resist trying out this B&B after my wife saw it win on 4 in a Bed! From the moment we rolled into their drive we were made to feel very welcome and special in their home. What a treat. We stayed one night in the blue room, which has its own dressing room, home made scones, smarties etc, just as my wife had seen on the programme. The bedding is luxurious by The White Company with seaside pictures displayed which on closer examination saw they were painted by Lynnie. The breakfast was to die for especially the Jolly Sundae! Shared at the table with a couple celebrating their 37th wedding anniversary, so Lynnie had decorated the dining room with bunting and gifts and made them feel very special! By the time we left we felt we had stayed with "old" friends. Lynnie is indeed "very jolly", Paul very hospitable and both genuinely warm. Questions were raised by the other contestants on 4 in a Bed about the size of the breakfast - is it the norm? I can confirm it is and "jolly excellent". If you stay here you won't be disappointed. Well done Lynnie and Paul you deserved to win. Our only disappointment is you are so far away. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Outstanding welcome, we were spoilt" 

Left on Nov 4, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway with things to see very locally or walk in the country, I could not recommend this B&B more highly. This was booked in a panic due to a busy weekend in Dartmouth (food festival) for us to attend a friends wedding. We had no idea what to expect but were delighted with what we had booked. From being greeted as soon as we drove up the drive to the home made scones served with clotted cream awaiting us in the Pink Suite when we were escorted to our room, we were really pleased with our choice. We settled down to a lovely cuppa (with biscuits provided) in our room (which had a Super King Sized bed) to make our breakfast choices. What a choice there was! We love breakfast at any time of day but this was exceptional! I started my 3 course breakfast with the breakfast crumble made with greengages and berries sprinkled with healthy nuts and seeds my partner had porridge. This was followed by a wonderful English breakfast or any cooked items of your choice. All cooked to perfection - no idea how Lynnie did it! For our final course we were presented with fluffy croissants topped with maple syrup! Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts from offering to iron our outfits for the wedding through to arranging taxis to collect us from the wedding reception and replenishing our empty biscuit jar! We will be back as soon as we can! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Outstanding attention to detail" 

Left on Nov 5, 2015 for a stay in Sep 2015 
 
We had the pleasure of staying at Higher Gitcombe in September 2015 for 2 nights. We travel a lot and like our creature comforts often splashing out on 5 star hotels. We were delighted therefore to find 5 star treatment at this lovely boutique B&B. The hosts Paul and Linnie have got it just right. The most attentive service when wanted but they also know when to leave you in peace. We stayed in the cream suite and were surprised to find that not only did we have our room with kingsize bed and lovely ensuite shower room but on opening another door within the suite found another twin bedroom. This would be ideal for a small family or two couples. We sneaked a look at the other suites and they were just as inviting and well appointed. The dining room and guest sitting room are extremely spacious and beautifully furnished. The breakfasts conjured up by Linnie and served by Paul were monumental. As well as a great spread of cereals, fruits, compotes and breads there was on offer a very full English breakfast or haddock with poached egg, kippers and baked fruit compotes. The whole B&B is beautifully appointed, very clean and totally inviting and on top of this it is very good value for money. We will definitely be staying here again and congratulate Paul and Linnie on creating a little haven of luxury on the South Devon coast. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Fabulous B&B with warm,friendly atmosphere and amazing breakfasts" 

Left on Oct 28, 2015 for a stay in Sep 2015 
 
We had the best weekend at Higher Gitcombe. Paul and Lynnie were delightful and their attention to detail is first class. Our room was comfortable and spotless and we enjoyed the smarties! Thanks for making us feel so welcome in your beautiful home. We will definitely visit again soon. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Perfection! Would SO recommend anyone to go here" 

Left on Oct 25, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015 
 
We arrived 24.10.15. Paul and Lynnie were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The house was AMAZING! Could not in all honesty fault a thing, we were in the Cream room, which was awesome, but we have to say all the rooms are perfect. We ordered our breakfast soon after arriving, because the choice was so amazing! Lynnie's new breakfast crumble was delightful, and she even gave me some mango, as I mentioned in passing how I love it! Incidentally, breakfast was wow! To sum up, I loved it with a passion, we loved Paul and Lynnie, we can not wait to come back and have some more pampering! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Superb relaxing stay" 

Reviewed Oct 2015 
 
We have just returned from an amazing three day break in the Pink Suite at Higher Gitcombe. Paul and Lynnie are fantastic hosts and gave us a warm welcome into their home. The room was very comfortable with everything you may need. The breakfast was fantastic, the best we have ever had anywhere.Good to see quality local produce being used. We highly recommend and will return ourselves soon. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Rural retreat but still convenient" 

Reviewed September 27, 2015 NEW 
 
We were welcomed into a spotless house, better described as a home, with a room offering views across farmland to distant hills. A truely rural setting as In the morning we could watch a buzzard hovering over the fields. The healthy choices for breakfast were appreciated and rounded off a short but pleasant stay. 
 
Because it is off the 'main' roads you will need clear directions/grid reference/GPS co-ordinates initially but then it is easy to find and is a minor problem for the sake of the quiet rural location. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Relaxing Stay" 

What a beautiful experience to stay at the Higher Gitcombe b&b. We stayed in the cream suite, such a lovely big room with fantastic views. The room has a huge super king bed which is so comfortable, we had the best night sleep in ages. The room has everything you need including a mini fridge and a double Jacuzzi bath! The hosts Paul & Lynnie are so welcoming, genuine & friendly. The best thing about the stay was the breakfast.. you really are spoilt. Starting with Lynnies fab jolly sundae (not to be missed) there is a vast range of choice from pancakes to a full cooked breakfast all using local ingredients. You won't need to eat for the rest of the day!! We will certainly recommended.. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Idyllic setting, warm welcome and amazing breakfast!!" 

Reviewed September 20, 2015  
 
Fantastic! Higher Gitcombe is a lovely house in a very peaceful location only 5 miles from Dartmouth. Paul & Lynnie were attentive and welcoming hosts - nothing was too much trouble. The room was great and the breakfast was outstanding!! This is a great spot to get away for a quiet break or use it, as I did, as a bolt hole after a function at BRNC Dartmouth!! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"A B&B to die for" 

Reviewed September 19, 2015 
 
After a long journey from East Anglia, Paul and Lynnie,Jolly, the owners, welcomed us to Higher Gitcombe like long-lost friends. They simply could not do enough for us - even allowing us to use their own sitting room while they were not using it. Higher Gitcombe is a stunning house and looks as if it had just stepped out of Homes & Gardens. The pristine accommodation is replete with every facility from en-suites to tea making to television ,. The breakfasts, whether Continental or Full English are simply delicious ..If there was a higher classification than 5 star we would have no hesitation in awarding to Higher Gitcombe. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"The best possible place to stay with the kindest of hosts" 

Reviewed September 18, 2015  
 
We had spent two nights in this large, modern, spotlessly clean and beautifully presented house. The position was ideal and so convenient with a lovely 'wrap around' garden and rural setting. The owners could not do enough for us and we were made to feel so welcome; the booking was easy and communication before we arrived excellent. 
 
The quality and standard of both the accommodation and food was beyond all of our expectations and we would recommend Higher Gitcombe to anyone, without reservation or hesitation. It is the best Bed and Breakfast/hotel we have stayed at by a very long way and we hope that we will be able to visit again soon. 
 
If a room available, we would advise that you reserve it very quickly. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent weekend break" 

Reviewed September 16, 2015 
 
A very warm welcome on arrival set the weekend off to a perfect start. It continued along those lines. Breakfast were fantastic, lots of choice. Conversations with fellow people at breakfast were very rewarding as we got to swap ideas and experiences of what to see and do. 
 
The rooms were very comfortable and luxurious. The showers were probably the most powerful in the world. 
 
II would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wanted to stay in the Dartmouth area. Our hosts were very helpful and courteous at all times. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent first class B&B" 

Reviewed September 14, 2015 
 
Paul & Lynnie made us very welcome. Our room was lovely and comfortable, plenty of tea and coffee and spotlessly clean everywhere. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous and we really enjoyed the special homemade fruit sundae that preceded the full English organic breakfast. 
 
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return when we get to visit to this beautiful area of Devon again. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"The most wonderful B&B EVER!!" 

Reviewed August 31, 2015 
 
Have to agree with everything all the other reviews have said x10! 
We arrived to the most lovely welcome from Lynnie. She didn't bat an eyelid when our 2 year old was running like a loon in the garden after being in the car for 4 hrs so that was a great start for us. 
We stayed in the cream suite with the lookout for the children, can't express how delighted we were to see our room- spacious, clean, airy, light, and fantastic views! 
Breakfast was amazing as all the other reviews have said, so much choice and so much of it! 
We stayed for 2 nights over Bank Holiday weekend and have never, ever been made to feel so welcome, and enjoyed a place so much, we will 100% be back when we're next down. 
Paul and Lynnie are such lovely hosts (our little girl has already asked when we're going back) take so much pride in their lovely home I don't think this will stay a hidden gem for too long! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent choice with First Class Accommodation and lovely hosts" 

Reviewed September 7, 2015 
 
As a party of six one on crutches and our dog not the easiest party to cater for but from arriving until we left after 3 nights Lynnie and Paul made us so very welcome. All the accommodation is to a very high standard with lots of personal touches making for a really homely feel. Situated right in the heart of the country surrounded by fields its so tranquil but you are only a couple of miles from several excellent pub/ restaurants (dog friendly) which means you have all the options for an excellent break. Oh the breakfast we are big eaters but Lynnie prepared the most amazing Jolly breakfast sundae and fully cooked traditional breakfast attentively served by Paul. They work hard to make sure that you have a memorable stay so we would whole heartily recommend to anyone and will definitely return if we come back to the area in the future. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Great hosts and best B&B in UK with breakfast to die for" 

Reviewed July 14, 2015 
 
Fantastic new home with spacious established gardens. We stayed in the Pink family suite, luxuriously furnished and all amenities, nothing missing. Both hosts, Paul and Lynnie, were very friendly and generous, ..Paul served the most amazing breakfast we have ever had in their lovely family dinning room. 
Difficult to find with the sat Nav which got confused, but called them up on phone and put us back on track. 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Excellent self-catering cottage" 

Reviewed August 30, 2015 
 
We hired the whole house as a self catering cottage. We have stayed in some other cottages on an luxury end before, but this property was by far the best! It was very well equipped(essential stuff such as kichen utensils and wi-fi that actually works, as well as a bit of luxury such as a hot tub and games room), very specious, well furnished, and we just felt that we were having a great holiday! We would definitely recommend this property! 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Simply Amazing!" 

Great place, fantastic breakfast and quality hosts, we stayed in the Pink Room and at just over £100 a night it really is excellent value. Ross Hampton - Glos July 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Probably the Best B&B in the World!" 

We went to Higher Gitcombe for a birthday treat and we were totally spoiled from the moment we arrived. Paul and Lynnie we perfect hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them. The room was fantastic (Cream Room) with outstanding views over the open countryside. It has been furnished to a very high standard including all the linen and towels. The breakfasts are awesome with such a variety to choose from too. The full English was divine and set us up for the whole day, its also nice that the produce was all sourced locally and of good quality too. There is ample parking and the gardens are very well maintained. We will certainly be back for another visit. Pete McM. Basingstoke July 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Idyllic" 

I'm in 100% agreement with the other positive reviews posted here. You'd look long and hard to find a better B&B experience. The location / setting are superb, and the property is lovely. Rooms are huge and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts are to die for, and set you up perfectly for the day. Paul and Lynnie couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. To top it all they even arranged the weather for us (we lucked out with wall to wall sunshine). A fantastic stay. Thoroughly recommended.. Clive - London June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Felt like we were staying at the house of good friends" 

Paul & Lynnie Jolly seem totally dedicated to the comfort and well being of their guests. Their energy and attention to detail was evident in every aspect of our 2 night stay with them in their beautiful home. They could not have made us feel more welcome. The breakfast was probably the best b&b breakfast we have ever had in many many years of staying in some excellent b&bs! What a lovely couple! Overall this is a 6* b&b! MeHappy from England June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Amazing and wonderful break" 

Have just spent 3 wonderful days in the best B and B we've ever stayed in. The owners Paul and Lynnie couldn't do enough for us. They were so friendly and welcoming. The house was beautiful, clean and tidy. Spent a few good night's sleep in the super king bed. Lynnie's special Jolly sundae for breakfast was a real treat and the full English breakfast that followed set us up for the day. We would thoroughly recommend this B and B to anyone although want to be able to go back there ourselves so won't tell too many people in case we can't!! Julia and Martin. June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth

"Look no further!" 

Reviewed by: Tony I from Reading 
This is as good as it gets when it comes to b&b. Great hosts, great location, great accommodation. If you add together the luxurious and stylish rooms with amazing views a sumptuous and beautifully presented breakfast ( do not miss the Jolly Sundae ) you have had a wonderful night and are ready for a hard day touring the amazing countryside and coast of South Devon. At the end of the day it's back to your home from home. Thank you Paul and Lynnie for creating such a relaxing and welcoming jewel. Ps. Bring your dog, the garden is perfect for an early morning play before breakfast. Then relax in the hot tub on the patio with a cold glass while your best friend stretches out and suns themselves beside you. Paul and Lynnie really are dog people and your hound is welcome in all the local pubs. June 2015 
Veranda at our Bed and Breakfast near Dartmouth